Tuesday, 3 March 2015

Bhutan: The Land of The Thunder Dragons

Bhutan, officially the Kingdom of Bhutan, is a landlocked country in South Asia located at the eastern end of the Himalayas. It is bordered to the north by China and to the south, east and west by India. To the west, it is separated from Nepal by the Indian state of Sikkim, while further south it is separated from Bangladesh by the Indian states of Assam and West Bengal. Bhutan's capital and largest city is Thimphu. The Currency is Bhutanese ngultrumb (BTN).

Some interesting facts are:
1. Bhutan has the world’s highest unclimbed peak, Gangkhar Puensum, a mountain so sacred by the Bhutanese that the government has banned mountaineering on any peak above 19,685 feet.

2. Plastic bags have been banned in Bhutan since 1999.

3. Bhutan is the only country to outlaw tobacco (effective 2004).

4. The “takin,” a goat-antelope, is Bhutan’s national animal.

5. All citizens officially become one year older on New Year’s Day. This way, no one forgets anyone’s birthday.

6. Bhutan is one of the last countries in the world to introduce television to its people. The government lifted a ban on TV and on the Internet only 11 years ago.

7. Bhutan is the only country in the world that absorbs more Co2 than it gives out. It is also the only country whose largest export is renewable energy, which is hydroelectric power.

8. Homosexuality is illegal and punishable by law here, but polygamy is allowed.

9. Bhutanese are forbidden to marry foreigners.
10. Bhutan has a mandatory national dress code. Men wear knee-length traditional garments and women must wear ankle-length dresses. The colors are determined by social class and status.

For more interesting facts visit:

Some beautiful places are:

For tourism detail visit: @tourismbhutan & @GeomboDorji

No comments:

Post a Comment