Wednesday, 25 March 2015

Turkmenistan: Land of The Turkmen

Turkmenistan, formerly known as Turkmenia, is one of the Turkic states in Central Asia. Turkmenistan is bordered by Kazakhstan to the northwest, Uzbekistan to the north and east, Afghanistan to the southeast, Iran to the south and southwest, and the Caspian Sea to the west. The Capital and largest city is Ashgabat. The Currency is Turkmen new manat (TMT).

Some interesting facts are:
1. Turkmenistan gained independence from the Soviet Union on 27th October 1991.

2. The Karakum Desert covers almost 80% of the country.

3. The Karakum Canal is one of the world’s longest canals used for irrigation.

4. In 330 BC, Alexander the Great founded the city of Alexandria, which later became Merv.

5. When the city of Merv was destroyed by Mongols, only 400 people were spared.

6. Gas and electricity are free in Turkmenistan, so some citizens opt to have their stoves burning 24/7 to avoid the cost of using matches.

7. A 133-meter-high flagpole standing in Ashgabat is one of the tallest flagpoles in the world.

8. The literacy levels in Turkmenistan are 98 percent.

9. The Akhal-Teke horse also represents the State Emblem of Turkmenistan.

10. Carpets woven in Turkmenistan are famous throughout the world.

For more facts visit:

Some beautiful places are:

For tourism details visit: @turkmentourism

#turkmenistan #travel #letsnailedtheworld